A journal of my life as an editorial Photographer

Blog Day 1

It’s 5:30 in the morning, I should be sleeping after my 8 hours of driving and 2 hour photo-shoot from the day before, I really need to sleep. After briefly waking up I can’t get back to sleep. too many thoughts creeping into my head as i try to get a few hours more rest at the luxurious Hampton Inn before the start of another day.

I start to think about the day before and many other days like it. Wishing i would have kept some sort of log, journal or diary over the years. Wish i would have taken more random photos of things i have experienced. But when I was in my 20’s and 30’s, I was so wrapped up in the day to day of work that I never thought to document the things I’ve experienced, the access I have had to really interesting people, events and places.

Recently, I was pouring over images and printed magazine articles for my website and for my image archive and the memories of shoots started to come back. It is amazing how by looking at a transparency, it was like I was transported back to the photo-shoot. I would remember all the details of that shoot good and bad. Then, once again regretting not having a log or journal of my professional career. I have seen, been a part of and met some pretty amazing people over these past 25 years of being a Photographer

During the course of my job I do a lot of driving to photo-shoots whether in California or anywhere in the country, which means a lot of time to think and after hearing a radio interview with a sports writer who created a blog and how his blog helped him to keep a better connection to family and friends when he is on the road plus a record of his life. I decided what the hell i guess ill try a blog.

This is not going to be a hardcore blog or a diary of my life. Rather to journal some of what goes on in my life as a Photographer for Source Interlink Media and the 10 publications I shoot for including Super Street, Project Car, Import Tuner, European Car, Eurotuner, Honda Tuning, Modified, Heavy Hitters, Truckin and Mini-Truckin. This is designed to keep my friends entertained and amused over time.

Leave a Reply

